Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Home: WHII: ABCs of Imperialism

Homepage

Project Information & Rubric

Research Help Available from the BHS Library

Email Ms. Christle at margaretchristle@mcps.org with questions.

Suggsted Databases

Indigenous Perspectives Resources

Children's Literature Resources

Children's Books with Patriotic Themes/US History

Bunting, Eve, and Ronald Himler.  The Wall.  Clarion Books, 1992.

A boy and his father come from far away to visit the Vietnam War Memorial in Washington and find the name of the boy's grandfather, who was killed in the conflict.

Read Aloud

Curlee, Lynn.  Liberty.  New York: Athenum Books for Young Readers, 2000.

Includes bibliographical references. Discusses all the planning and efforts that went into the construction of one of the most famous symbols of the United States, the Statue of Liberty.

Naberhaus, Sarvinder, and Kadir Nelson.  Blue Sky White Stars.  Puffin Books, 2019

"A stirring poetic tribute to the beauty and wonder of America's symbols, history, landscape"--Provided by publisher.

Read Aloud

Rappaport, Doreen, and Bryan Collier.  Martin's Big Words:  The Life of Dr. Martin Luther King., Jr.  Jump at the Sung--Hyperion Paperbacl for Children, 2007.  

Includes bibliographical references. Looks at the life of Dr. Martin Luther King, explaining his work to bring about a peaceful end to segregation.

Read Aloud

Thomas, Joyca Carol, and Flloyd Cooper.  I Have Heard of a Land.  Joanna Cotler Books, 1998.  

Describes the joys and hardships experienced by an African-American pioneer woman who staked a claim for free land in the Oklahoma territory.

Read Aloud

 

 

 

Examples of ABC Books

Martin, Bill Jr. and John Archembault and Lois Ehlert.  Chicka Chicka Boom Boom.  Aladdin Paperbacls, 2000.

A classic ABC book.

Read Aoud

Sanders, Nancy and E.B. Lewis.  D Is for Drinking Gourd.  Sleeping Bear Press, 2007.

Includes bibliographical references. An illustrated, rhyming alphabet that names important people and events in African American history and culture, each with background information.

Read Aloud

 

 

Children's Books Celebrating the Culture and History of Indigenous Peoples

Lindstrom, Carole and Michaela Goade.  We Are Water Protectors.  Roaring Book Press, 2020.  

"Water is the first medicine. It affects and connects us all . . . When a black snake threatens to destroy the Earth and poison her people's water, one young water protector takes a stand to defend Earth's most sacred resource"--OCLC.

Read Aloud

 

Sorell, Traci and Frane Lessac  We Are Grateful: Otsaliheliga. Charlesbridge, 2019.  

"The word otsaliheliga (oh-jah-LEE-hay-lee-gah) is used by members of the Cherokee Nation to express gratitude. Beginning in the fall with the new year and ending in summer, follow a full Cherokee year of celebrations and experiences. Written by a citizen of the Cherokee Nation, this look at one group of Native Americans is appended with a glossary and the complete Cherokee syllabary, originally created by Sequoyah"--Amazon.

Read Aloud

Swamp, Jake and Erwin Printup.  Giving Thanks : A Native American Good Morning Message.  Lee & Low, 1995.

Presents the Iroquois Thanksgiving Address prayer, which voices gratitude to Mother Earth for all that nature provides.

Read Aloud

Waboose, Jan Bordeau and Brian Deines.  Skysisters.  Kids Can Press, 2002.  

As two young Ojibway sisters set off across the north country to Coyote Hill to see the SkySpirits dance, Grandmother Moon lights the way.

Read Aloud

 

Storybook Resources