Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using the EasyBib Chrome Extension
Using the EasyBib Add-on in Google Docs
BHS Library eResources & Databases
You must be signed into your MCPS Google account to access passwords.
BHS Library Print Sources On Reserve
The Ancient Chinese World by Pangu, a god asleep inside a giant black egg for 18,000 years, wakes up to create the world. Liu Bang, the founder of a Chinese dynasty, begins his life as a peasant. Sun Tzu, a fearless war strategist, writes one of the most popular books of all time. These are just a few of the captivatingfigures you'll meet in The Ancient Chinese World. Terry Kleeman and Tracy Barrett use a rich variety of intriguing primary sources-turtle shells, clay pots, an ancient wall, folk songs, poetry, and more-to construct a lively history of the politicians, farmers, warriors, and philosophers who createdand shaped the ancient Chinese world. They also show us the fascinating process of constructing the historical jigsaw puzzle. Archaeologists discover a 400,000-year-old skull near modern-day Beijing and determine that it is one of our earliest human ancestors. A scholar who is prescribed "dragonbones" to cure an illness realizes that the bones-which are actually turtle shells-contain ancient Chinese writing used to send messages to the gods. The fantastic discovery of Lady Hao's tomb reveals that in ancient China a powerful woman led soldiers into battle. The letters exchanged by twomilitary leaders show not only how the Chinese invented the sword, but also how they used the kite as a military weapon. Using these ancient artifacts and writings, Kleeman and Barrett weave the dramatic story of rulers, writers, soldiers, and citizens who made up the fascinating and unique world ofancient China.
Call Number: REF 930 ANC
Publication Date: 2005-03-24
Ancient Japan by Explores the culture and beliefs of traditional Japan, with fifteen projects that enable readers to recreate some of Japanese history.
Call Number: 952 MAC
Publication Date: 1999-07-01
The Cross and the Crescent by A well-illustrated history of this 700-year-long war to free the Holy Land.
Call Number: 909.07 BIL
Publication Date: 1988-11-01
The Crusades by
Call Number: 909.07 BIE
Publication Date: 1995-01-01
The Crusades by
Call Number: 909.07 CRU
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
The Crusades Through Arab Eyes by
Call Number: 956 MAA
Publication Date: 1985-09-12
Global History by Written in a lively, engaging style and designed to complement the high school social studies curriculum, this reference vividly recreates and analyzes pivotal encounters, exchanges, and conflicts between cultures and civilizations that profoundly influenced the course of human history. It covers all regions of the globe - Asia, Africa, Europe, the Middle East, the Americas, and the Pacific - and all time periods and forms of encounters - from the early trade networks of the Fertile Crescent in 5,000 B.C.E to the spread of monotheism in late antiquity and the early Middle Ages, through Columbus's arrival in the Americas, and up to the expansion of the World Wide Web. Each article details one encounter, highlighting the historical background of the civilizations or cultures involved; describing the exchange; and analyzing its social, political, economic, and cultural significance. Each entry includes a timeline; a map; primary source documents related to the exchange; a sidebar summarizing the proliferation of goods, practices, and ideas; bibliographic citations; black-and-white and four-color illustrations; and cross-references. Other features include a general introduction, glossary, and special indexes in each volume.
Call Number: REF 909 GLO
Publication Date: 2003-12-31
The History of China by Chinas unmatched ability to reinvent itself over the centuries is perhaps its most timeless asset. Even in the wake of violent civil wars, Mongol invaders, and turbulent governance, China has endured and, in recent times, achieved a level of prosperity rivaled by few other countries in the world. The events that transformed China from an imperial nation to a superpower are chronicled in this comprehensive volume that introduces the history of the worlds largest and one of its most dynamic populations. Accompanied by vivid images, the narrative provides readers with new perspective on this ancient culture.
Call Number: 951 HIS
Publication Date: 2010-08-15
The Inheritance of Rome by An ambitious and enlightening look at why the so-called Dark Ages were anything but that Prizewinning historian Chris Wickham defies the conventional view of the Dark Ages in European history with a work of remarkable scope and rigorous yet accessible scholarship. Drawing on a wealth of new material and featuring a thoughtful synthesis of historical and archaeological approaches, Wickham argues that these centuries were critical in the formulation of European identity. Far from being a middle period between more significant epochs, this age has much to tell us in its own right about the progress of culture and the development of political thought. Sweeping in its breadth, Wickham's incisive history focuses on a world still profoundly shaped by Rome, which encompassed the remarkable Byzantine, Carolingian, and Ottonian empires, and peoples ranging from Goths, Franks, and Vandals to Arabs, Anglo- Saxons, and Vikings. Digging deep into each culture, Wickham constructs a vivid portrait of a vast and varied world stretching from Ireland to Constantinople, the Baltic to the Mediterranean. The Inheritance of Rome brilliantly presents a fresh understanding of the crucible in which Europe would ultimately be created.
Call Number: 940.1 WIC
Publication Date: 2009-07-30
In the Land of the Dragon by
Call Number: 951.024 WHA
Publication Date: 1999-05-01
The Medieval and Early Modern World by Following in the footsteps of The World in Ancient Time, The Medieval & Early Modern World is a compelling series that links the ancient world with the more recent history of our own times. Accessibe and enjoyable in its coverage of basic world events, each volume is authored by senior scholars and includes cutting-edge and reliable scholarship about each subject. This seven-volume set includes three volumes covering the major cultures -- the Middle East, Mali and Ghana; the Asian Steppes, China, Japan, India; Europe and Meso-America -- in medieval times. The fourth volume discusses the world renaissance in learning and religious belief and the fifth volume covers the world of science and revolutions. The six volume addresses the early modern empires of the Mughals, Spanish and Portuguese, Poles, Lithuanians, Russians, Habsburgs, Ottomans, and Manchus. A primary sources and reference volume is the perfect compliment to the series including a master series index and approximately 80 additional primary source documents. The Medieval & Early Modern World is a unique and engaging series and an essential for the classroom, library, and personal library.
Call Number: REF 909 DES
Publication Date: 2005-10-20
Copyright Friendly Images
*Same password as for Encyclopedia Britannica
*Millions of copyright-free images
*Images are already cited for you
Use the following tools to help you create your Timeline for this project.