Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Assignment Project & Information
Gale Virtual Reference Library provides citation for you!
Look on the right side of the screen when you locate your article.
BHS Library eResources
(You must be logged into your Google MCPS account to access these passwords.)
BHS Print Resources
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology 'The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology' covers the entire spectrum of psychological terms, theories, personalities and experiments. The book is designed to be of use to both students and the general public.
Call Number: REF 150
Publication Date: 2000-10-10
Psychology and Mental Health by This comprehensive five-volume set covers notable theories, people, social issues, life stages, the physiology and anatomy of the nervous system, and various mental illnesses or conditions, all in a simple, easy to use A-Z format.
Call Number: REF 150
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Understanding Psychology by Students First. "Understanding Psychology" is written around the philosophy that an effective textbook must be oriented to students-- informing them, engaging them, exciting them about the field, and expanding their intellectual capabilities-- because when students understand psychology, they learn psychology. No matter what brings students into the introductory course and regardless of their initial motivation, "Understanding Psychology," Eighth Edition, draws students into the field and stimulate their thinking. This revision integrates a variety of elements that foster students'understanding of psychology and its impact on their everyday lives. It also provides instructors with a fully integrated supplements package to objectively gauge their students'mastery of psychology's key principles and concepts and to create dynamic lectures.
Call Number: 150 FEL
Publication Date: 1995-08-01
Popular Psychology by A lot of what is marketed to the public as psychology is actually quite unscientific. Attempting to counteract the tide of misinformation about what psychology really is, "Popular Pscyhology: An Encyclopedia" is a concise guide for anyone seeking to understand the true scientific nature of psychology. Self-help books; television specials; and articles in the popular press all serve to obscure the true intellectual and scientific premises on which the field of psychology is based. The serious work of the great psychological thinkers and schools of psychological thought is lost to the average person. High school and college students as well as the interested lay reader will want to consult this work to understand what is good in the popular presentation of psycholgy and what is unworthy of serious attention. A lot of what is marketed to the public as psychology is actually quite unscientific. Attempting to counteract the tide of misinformation about what psychology really is, this book is a concise guide for anyone seeking to understand the true scientific nature of psychology. Self-help books; television specials; and articles in the popular press all serve to obscure the true intellectual and scientific premises on which the field of psychology is based. The serious work of the great psychological thinkers and schools of psychological thought is lost to the average person. High school and college students as well as the interested lay reader will want to consult this work to understand what is good in the popular presentation of psychology and what is unworthy of serious attention. A unique and especially helful feature of "Popular Pscyhology: An Encyclopedia" is the Guide to Related Topics. Major topic sections list the individual entries pertinent to that idea. For example, major sections include Biological Bases of Behavior; Drugs and Chemicals; Popular Gurus and Movements; Pseudoscience; Psychological Theories and Ideas; Treatments. There are 121 entries covering such subjects as: acupuncture; alien abduction; aromatherapy; birth order; brainwashing; chemical imbalance; drpressants; Down's Syndrome; emotional intelligence; facilitated communication; Howard Gardner; gingko biloba; insanity defense; intelligence; kava; learning disability; Dr. Phil; mood disorders; Mozart Effect; nervous breakdown; parenting styles; post-traumatic stress disorder; psychiatry; seasonal affective disorder; sleep and dreaming; Tourette Syndrome. Ideas and persons familiar to the general reader or to the high school and college student are discussed in an engaging yet knowledgeable style. A general bibliography as well as further reading following each entry and a complete index make this accessible and informative work a useful addition to any library.
Call Number: 150 COR
Publication Date: 2005-01-30
Cognitive Psychology by Cognitive Psychology, Fifth Edition, provides balanced coverage of the core areas of the discipline, including perception, memory, language, pattern recognition, and thinking. John Best skillfully provides a solid foundation for later studies in psychology or in related fields. Experiments throughout the book are described in detail, enhancing the readers comprehension of the concepts and helping those who have not had courses in experimental psychology or statistics to grasp the concepts. With additional demonstrations and a contemporary treatment of memory, Best addresses complex issues in cognitive neuroscience clearly and completely.
Call Number: 153 BES
Publication Date: 1989-10-01
The Oxford Companion to the Mind by With over 900 entries, ranging from brief definitions to substantial essays on major topics, The Oxford Companion to the Mind takes the reader on a dazzling tour of this endlessly fascinating subject, spanning many disciplines within the broad compass of philosophy, psychology and the physiology of the brain. An important feature of the book is the large number of articles on "topics of mental life", in which well-known writers discuss subjects in which they have a particular expertise. Noam Chomsky writes on his own theory of language, Idries Shah on Sufism, John Bowlby on attachment theory, B.F. Skinner on behaviorism, Oliver Sacks on nothingness, A.J. Ayer on philosophical views of the relation between mind and body, and R.D. Laing on interpersonal experience. The editor, Richard Gregory, contributes entries on aesthetics, phrenology, physiognomy, and illusions of perception. The Companion includes entries on such everyday events as sleep, humor, forgetting, and hearing, as well as specialized topics such as bilingualism, jet-lag, military incompetence, computer chess, and animal magnetism. What can, and all too often does, go wrong with the mind is also covered--many forms of mental illness are explored, as well as mental handicap, brain damage, and neurological disorders. Perception and the ways in which our senses are often deceived are treated in full, as are elements of personal development and learning, and the puzzling world of parapsychology with its altered states of consciousness, out-of-body experiences, and extra-sensory perception. The workings of the nervous system are explained in a special tutorial article. The text is supplemented by brief definitions of specialist terms and by biographies of major figures who have contributed to our understanding of the mind--individuals as varied as Plato, Johannes Kepler, William James, Sigmund Freud, and Alan Turing. The entries are arranged alphabetically and, following the style of other recent Companions, are linked by a network of helpful cross-references. The 160 illustrations have been carefully chosen to amplify the text, while specialist bibliographies provide suggestions for further reading.
Call Number: 128 OXF
Publication Date: 1987-10-01